General Description / Special Programs
At Eastern Connecticut State University (ECSU), the Anthropology major was created in fall 2020 and it is based within the Department of Sociology, Anthropology, Criminology, and Social Work (SACSW). ECSU is the state's public liberal arts institution, and until 2020, Anthropology offered only a minor. Within the department, Anthropology is the smallest program, both in terms of faculty and majors. Currently, there are three tenured full-time faculty members (two cultural anthropologists and one archaeologist) and five adjuncts. As of fall 2022, there are seventeen anthropology majors. On July 1, 2022, I (Ricardo Perez) started a 2-year term as department chair (this is my first experience as a chair). As the chair, I am in charge of a department with 16 full-time faculty members, including the three anthropologists mentioned above.
Read More Read Less